Your IT Support Experts - Homepage

We partner with many types of businesses in the area, and strive to eliminate IT issues before they cause expensive downtime, so you can continue to drive your business forward. Our dedicated staff loves seeing our clients succeed. Your success is our success, and as you grow, we grow.

Home

About Us

IT Services

Understanding IT

News

Blog

Contact Us

Support

(703) 359-9211

Free Consultation

Interested in seeing what we can do for your business? Contact us to see how we can help you! Sign Up Today

Macro Systems Blog

Gmail's Confidential Mode

Gmail's Confidential Mode

Gmail is as secure as any comparable email platform, but there may be some messages you send that you’d rather not have lingering in someone’s inbox. On the other hand, did you know that Gmail allows you to send messages that delete themselves after a set timeframe, while also preventing the contents from being forwarded, downloaded, copied, or printed?

Confidential Mode in Gmail

We’ve all seen the spy movies where an agent’s briefing contains instructions to destroy the message inside to make sure that the details it contains are never leaked... sometimes, the message itself is rigged to take care of the destruction on the agent’s behalf.

Think of Gmail’s confidential mode as a digital version of that: you can send an email to another user (regardless of the email client they use to read their messages) that will expire after the amount of time you specify. You can even add an extra layer of security by sending your recipient a passcode via text message that they must provide to read the message at all.

Let’s go over the process for creating such a message in Gmail.

How to Use Gmail’s Confidential Mode

First you need to access your Gmail. Start your message by clicking the Compose button at the top-left of the page. In the window that appears, you’ll find a row of icons next to the Send button, one of which appearing as a padlock and clock. This is the button to Turn confidential mode on/off. Clicking it will pull up the Confidential mode window.

There, you can set the message’s expiration date to meet various options, ranging from a day to a year or more, and even require the user to input a passcode that Google will generate, either sending it to their email or via SMS. If you do require a passcode, you’ll be prompted to provide the phone numbers for both you and the recipient.

The mobile version of Gmail also provides confidentiality, with a very similar process. To compose a confidential message, open the triple-dot menu and—selecting Confidential mode—set it to your preferences.

While any information sent over the Internet cannot have its safety guaranteed, encrypting your more sensitive emails is certainly advisable.

For more convenient IT tips, security best practices, and the like, make sure you keep coming back to our blog!

Enhancing Society Via Technology
Some IT Changes Can Have a Negative Impact on Your...
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Guest
Monday, April 19, 2021

Captcha Image

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.macrollc.com/

Customer Login

Contact Us

Learn more about what Macro Systems can do for your business.

(703) 359-9211

Macro Systems
3867 Plaza Drive
Fairfax, Virginia 22030